FM Sitharaman Unveils Details On Garib Kalyan Rojgar Abhiyaan For Migrant Workers




oi-Olga Robert


Finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman on Thursday provided details of PM Garib Kalyan Rojgar Abhiyaan that was announced by the Prime Minister’s Office earlier on the same day.

This Abhiyaan will be launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 20 June at 11 am from Telihar Village of Bihar’s Khagaria district. It will be launched via video conference in the presence of the Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar.

The villages across 116 districts in six states altogether will join this programme on 20 June virtually through the Common Service Centres and Krishi Vigyan Kendras.

The 116 districts with more than 25,000 returnee migrant workers across six states, namely Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Jharkhand and Odisha have been chosen for the campaign which includes 27 aspirational districts. These districts are estimated to cover about 2/3 of such migrant workers, the government had said.

On Thursday, in a press conference, FM Sitharman said that the public work scheme worth Rs 50,000 crore will provide job opportunities to migrant workers..

The first priority of PM Garib Kalyan Rojgar Abhiyaan is to provide immediate relief to migrant workers who have gone home, says Sitharaman.


  • There will be 25 different kinds of works: construction of wells, plantation, horticulture, Anganwadi centres, rural housing, rural connectivity and border road works, railway works, Shyama Prasad Mukherjee RURBAN mission, PM KUSUM works, laying of fibre optic cable under Bharat Net, works under Jal Jeevan mission, community sanitation complex, Gram panchayat Bhawan, works under finance commission funds, national highways works, water conservation and harvesting work.
  • First priority will be to provide a livelihood to those who have returned to villages.
  • Employment will be provided from 125 days. In the first instalment, jobs will be provided for four months. “As we go ahead, we have to see how this works out for migrants and central government”, said FM Sitharaman.
  • 116 districts were chosen, that is those where over 25,000 workers have returned from cities and towns to their villages.
  • Migrants will get jobs in their own state.
  • 116 districts include 32 districts from Bihar, 31 from Uttar Pradesh, 24 from Madhya Pradesh, 22 from Rajasthan, 4 from Odisha and 3 from Jharkhand.
  • 27 aspirational districts include 12 from Bihar, 5 from Uttar Pradesh, 4 from Madhya Pradesh, 2 from Rajasthan, 1 from Odisha and 3 from Jharkhand.


Source link