Facebook seems set to pull the plug on some of its services that collect users’ location. These services include Nearby Friends, weather alerts, location history, and other location-based features. The company sent users who have used these services in the past notification informing the same.
“Nearby Friends and Weather alerts will no longer be available after May 31, 2022. Information you shared that was used for these experiences, including Location History and Background Location, will stop being collected after May 31, 2022, even if you have previously enabled them,” said Facebook in a statement.
The company also confirmed the same news to The Verge. “While we’re deprecating some location-based features on Facebook due to low usage, people can still use Location Services to manage how their location information is collected and used,” company’s spokesperson Emil Vazquez said in an emailed statement.
This, however, no way means that Facebppk will completely stop using users location. As it said in its note to users: Facebook will “continue collecting location information for other experiences” to serve up relevant ads and location check-ins as per its data policy. Yes, users have the ability to view, download, or delete any location data.
Facebook’s message to users
Because you’ve previously used Nearby Friends, Weather alerts, Location History or Background Location, we’re letting you know that these products and features will no longer be available after May 31, 2022. Information you shared that was used for these experiences, including Location History and Background Location, will stop being collected after May 31, 2022, even if you have previously enabled them. Facebook will otherwise continue collecting location information for other experiences as described in our Data Policy.
Update your settings
You can update your current Location History and Background Location settings in the Facebook App until May 31, 2022. After this date, the settings will be disabled.
Accessing your Location History
If you want to view or delete your existing Location History, you can access your information and download your information before Aug 1, 2022. After this date, if you do nothing, your existing Location History information will be automatically deleted.