West Indies vs England:  Saqib Mahmood explains the no-ball

Sports News

By Devesh Tyagi

March 20 2022

England's Shakib Mahmood took two wickets in his Test  debut against  West Indies

Mahmood bowled Jermaine Blackwood on Friday

Their celebration of 25 years was cut short when the umpire called a no-ball at the Kensington Oval in Barbados.

The swing bowler went on to say that the effort he put into the delivery allowed him to get past the crease.

"I was fine the whole time at the front line and then trying to get that yorker inside," he said on Saturday.

Thought I would humiliate myself, let the boys down, which was pretty tough, tried to break everything.

Mahmood took the longest of 24 hours to break a duck

Jason Holder on Saturday when the all-rounder missed an attempted hook.

I was looking at the wicket to see where my leg went and whether the umpire would say anything.

Mahmood later dismissed tailender Veerasammy Permaul lbw and finished with 2-58 off 27 tidy overs.

Mahmood was disappointed with West Indies captain and opener Craig Brathwaite

until he made a mistake on the 489th ball and was bowled by Jack Leach

West Indies were bowled out for 411 while England were 40 for no loss in their second innings at stumps

taking a total lead of 136 runs with one day to spare.

Also More Sports Related Stories